Full Title: 1998 ASEAN Framework Agreement on the Facilitation of Goods in Transit signed on 16 December 1998 in Hanoi, Vietnam by the Transport Ministers
Short Title / Abbreviations: AFAFGIT
CIL Subject Classification: ASEAN Economic Community/Transport
Date of Adoption: 16 December 1998
Date of Entry into Force: 2 October 2000
Ratification Status: Please visit http://www.asean.org/Ratification.pdf
Place of Adoption: Hanoi, Vietnam,4th ASEAN Transport Ministers’ Meeting
Level of Officials Signing: Transport Ministers
Depository: Secretary-General
Mode of Entry into Force: Entry into force on the date of deposit of the instruments of ratification/acceptance by all Contracting Parties (Article 33)
Dispute Settlement: In accordance with the ASEAN Protocol on Dispute Settlement Mechanism (Article 30);

Also a “covered agreement” under Appendix I of the ASEAN Protocol on Enhanced Dispute Settlement Mechanism signed on 29 November 2004 in Vientiane, Laos

Link to Text (CIL):
Link to Text (External): http://www.asean.org/7377.htm
Protocols / Amendments: 2007 Protocol 1 – Designation of Transit Transport Routes and Facilities (http://www.asean.org/19734.htm)

Protocol 2 – Designation of Frontier Posts (N/A)

1999 Protocol 3 – Types and Quantity of Road Vehicles signed on 15 September 1999 in Hanoi, Vietnam by the Ministers of Transport (http://www.asean.org/transport/fgitptc3.htm)

1999 Protocol 4 – Technical Requirements of Vehicles signed on 15 September 1999 in Hanoi, Vietnam by the Ministers of Transport (http://www.asean.org/transport/fgitptc4.htm)

2001 Protocol 5 – ASEAN Scheme of Compulsory Motor Vehicle Third-Party Liability Insurance signed on 8 April 2001 in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia by the Ministers of Finance (http://www.asean.org/transport/protocol_5.htm)

Protocol 6 – Railways Border and Interchange Stations (N/A)

Protocol 7 – Customs Transit System (N/A)

2000 Protocol 8 – Sanitary and Phytosanitary Measures signed on 27 October 2000 in Phnom Penh, Cambodia by the Ministers of Agriculture (http://www.asean.org/transport/protocol_8.htm)

2002 Protocol 9 – Dangerous Goods signed on 20 September 2002 in Jakarta, Indonesia (http://www.asean.org/transport/protocol9.htm)

Amending / Superseding:
Additional Information: Signed on 16 December 2009 by Brunei, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam.

Accession by Cambodia upon accession to ASEAN on 30 April 1999.

Prepared By: Z. Z. On: 4 Aug 2009
Checked By: C.S-W. On: 8 Dec 2009
Last Updated By: CSW On: 3 Nov 2010