The National University of Singapore-Centre for International Law

&

The University of Durham Law School

&

 The International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) World Commission on Environmental Law (WCEL)

are delighted to invite you to

 

The Road to COP 26/CMA 3 Preparatory Lecture Series

The 26th Climate Change Conference of Parties to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (COP 26) as well as the 3rd Meeting of the Parties to the Paris Agreement (CMA 3) are scheduled to be held in Glasgow, United Kingdom, from 1 to 12 November 2021. COP 26/CMA3 are expected to bring together thousands of government officials, members of civil society businesses, and other experts. While much advancement has been made since the adoption of the Paris Agreement in 2015, the implementation of the Paris Agreement requires continued and co-ordinated action by States. The upcoming COP 26 will provide an important opportunity for States to put forward ambitious actions in order to meet the temperature goals in Article 2 of the Paris Agreement.

In 2015, States had agreed to prepare new or updated nationally determined contributions (NDCs) to be communicated in 2020, to demonstrate their increased levels of ambition. During the 2018 Conference of Parties in Katowice, COP 24, the ‘Paris Agreement Rulebook’ was adopted. This represents an important milestone: The Paris Agreement Rulebook comprises essential guidance for Parties for the effective operationalization of the provisions of the Paris Agreement. However, some unfinished business remains, such as the guidance on cooperative market and non-market approaches under article 6 of the Paris Agreement, as well as agreement on common timeframes for NDCs.

In preparation for COP 26, the Centre for International Law-NUS, Durham Law School and the IUCN WCEL are pleased to offer a series of lectures by leading experts in climate change law on

The Road to COP 26/CMA 3 Preparatory Lecture Series

This monthly series of lectures will provide an expert overview of the key issues that will be discussed during COP 26/CMA 3, in the context of past COPs and the UNFCCC/Paris Agreement legal framework. The lecture series is aimed at government officials, academics, NGOs and others who will be attending or are interested in COP26. This series will offer expert insight into the working mechanisms and procedure of climate change COPs, how they function and what to expect from COP 26/CMA 3 from specific issues that are on the agenda.

LECTURE PROGRAMME

26 FEBRUARY 2021, 9:00 (MST) / 16:00 (London) / 00:00 (SGT)
Road to Paris and Glasgow
By Daniel Bodansky, Professor of Law, Sandra Day O’Connor College of Law
Watch the Recording | More Info

30 MARCH 2021, 9:00 (EST) / 14:00 (London) / 21:00 (SGT)
Financial and Funding Mechanisms under the Climate Regime
By David Freestone, George Washington University Law School. Former Deputy General Counsel, The World Bank
Watch the Recording| More Info

9 APRIL 2021, 10:00 (EUROPE CET) / 17:00 (SGT)
Accountability in the Paris Agreement (Transparency and Compliance)
By Christina Voigt, Professor of Law, University of Oslo, Department of Public and International Law
Watch the Recording & Download Slides | More Info

28 MAY 2021, (EST) / 10:00 (London) / 18:00 (SGT)
The Paris Agreement Rule Book: Adding a Glasgow Chapter to the Katowice Package
By Petra Minnerop, Associate Professor of International Law, Durham University, Durham Law School
Register | More Info

18 JUNE 2021, 10:00 (London) / 18:00 (Beijing)
Advancing Technology Development and Transfer under the Paris Agreement
By Stephen Minas, Associate Professor, Peking University School of Transnational Law and Chair of the UNFCCC Technology Executive Committee
Register | More Info

2 JULY 2021, 12:00 (London) / 17:00 (Dhaka)
The perspective of the Least Developed Countries on Loss and Damage from Climate Change
By Saleemul Huq, Director of the International Centre for Climate Change and Development (ICCCAD) and Professor at the Independent University Bangladesh (IUB)
Register | More Info

30 JULY 2021, 10:00 (London) / 18:00 (SGT)
Global Goal for Adaptation for Raising Ambition under the Paris Agreement
By Selam Kidane Abebe, Legal Advisor for the African Group of Negotiators under the UNFCCC
Register | More Info

26 AUGUST 2021, 10:00 (London) / 18:00 (SGT)
Streamlining the Ocean into COP 26 and beyond
By Nilufer Oral, Director, CIL-NUS and Member of the International Law Commission
Register | More Info

24 SEPTEMBER 2021, 10:00 (London) / 18:00 (SGT)
Equity and Fairness in International Climate Change Law
By Lavanya Rajamani, Professor of International Environmental Law, Faculty of Law, University of Oxford
Register| More Info

8 OCTOBER 2021, 10:00 (London) / 18:00 (SGT)
The Compensation Question: Loss and Damages
By Linda Siegele, Legal Advisor to AOSIS Member States
Register | More Info