2000 PROTOCOL TO AMEND THE MINISTERIAL UNDERSTANDING ON ASEAN COOPERATION IN FINANCE

Signed in Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam on 25 March 2000

THE GOVERNMENT OF BRUNEI DARUSSALAM, THE KINGDOM OF CAMBODIA, THE REPUBLIC OF INDONESIA, LAO PDR, MALAYSIA, MYANMAR, THE REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES, THE REPUBLIC OF SINGAPORE, THE KINGDOM OF THAILAND AND THE SOCIALIST REPUBLIC OF VIET NAM, (HEREIN AFTER REFERRED TO AS "MEMBER STATES")

DESIRING to develop and promote cooperation in the area of finance for the benefit of Member States;

NOTING the accession of Cambodia, Lao PDR, and Myanmar in 2000 to the Ministerial Understanding on ASEAN Cooperation Finance;

RECOGNISING the decision of the Special ASEAN Finance Ministers Meeting on 25 November 1999 in Manila, Philippines to the establishment of the ASEAN Finance and Central Bank Deputies Meeting (AFDM); replacing the ASEAN Senior Officials Meeting (ASFOM);

DO HEREBY AGREE THAT:

ARTICLE 7 ASEAN SENIOR FINANCE OFFICIALS MEETING AND MEETINGS OF OTHER FUNCTIONAL AREAS OF FINANCE

1. The AFMM shall be assisted by the ASEAN Senior Finance Officials Meeting (ASFOM)

Be changed to read as:

ASEAN Finance and Central Bank Deputies Meeting and Meetings of Other Functional Areas of Finance

1. The AFMM shall be assisted by the ASEAN Finance and Central Bank Deputies Meeting (AFDM)

ARTICLE 9 ROLE OF THE ASEAN SECRETARIAT

The ASEAN Secretariat shall assist AFMM, ASFOM and other ASEAN finance and banking bodies in carrying out their respective functions.

Be changed to read as:

The ASEAN Secretariat shall assist AFMM, AFDM and other ASEAN finance and banking bodies in carrying out their respective functions.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the undersigned, being duly authorized to sign by their respective Governments, have signed the Protocol to Amend the Ministerial Understanding on ASEAN Cooperation in Finance.

DONE at Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam this 25th day of March 2000, in single copy in the English language.

For the Government of Brunei Darussalam: H.E. Pehin Orang Kaya Laila Wijaya Dato Haji Abdul Aziz Umar, Minister Representing the Ministry of Finance

> For the Government of Cambodia H.E. Keat Chhon Senior Minister, Minister of Economy and Finance

> For the Government of the Republic of Indonesia **H.E. Dr. Bambang Sudibyo** Minister of Finance

> > For the Government of Lao PDR H.E. Liane Thykeo Vice Minister of Finance

For the Government of Malaysia H.E. Dato' Dr. Shafie Bin Mohd Salleh Deputy Minister of Finance 1

For the Government of the Union Myanmar H.E. Brig-Gen Than Tun Deputy Minister of Finance and Revenue

For the Government the Republic of the Philippines Jose T. Pardo Secretary of Finance

For the Government of the Republic of Singapore H.E. Dr. Richard Hu Tsu Tau Minister for Finance

For the Government of the Kingdom of Thailand H.E. Tarrin Nimmanahaeminda Minister of Finance

For the Government of the Socialist Republic of Viet Nam H.E. Nguyen Sinh Hung Minister of Finance