2006 ASEAN FRAMEWORK AGREEMENT ON VISA EXEMPTION

Signed in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia on 25 July 2006

ARTICLE 1	2
ARTICLE 2	2
ARTICLE 3	2
ARTICLE 4	3
ARTICLE 5	3
ARTICLE 6	3
ARTICLE 7	3
ARTICLE 8	3
ARTICLE 9	4
ARTICLE 10	4

2006 ASEAN FRAMEWORK AGREEMENT ON VISA EXEMPTION

Signed in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia on 25 July 2006

The Governments of Brunei Darussalam, the Kingdom of Cambodia, the Republic of Indonesia, the Lao People's Democratic Republic, Malaysia, the Union of Myanmar, the Republic of the Philippines, the Republic of Singapore, the Kingdom of Thailand, and the Socialist Republic of Viet Nam, Member Countries of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN), hereinafter referred to individually as "Member Country" and collectively as "Member Countries";

DESIRING to maintain, strengthen and further develop the friendship and cooperation in ASEAN;

RECALLING the provisions of Article 2 of the ASEAN Tourism Agreement signed on 4 November 2002, in Cambodia on facilitation of intra-ASEAN travel;

RECALLING paragraph (b) of Article 11 of the ASEAN Framework Agreement for Integration of Priority Sectors signed on 29 November 2004, which commits ASEAN Member Countries to provide visa exemption for intra-ASEAN travel by ASEAN nationals; and

INTENDING to provide general principles and guidelines in establishing and/or renewing bilateral agreements among Member Countries on visa exemption for their respective citizens traveling within the ASEAN region;

HAVE AGREED AS FOLLOWS:

ARTICLE 1

- 1. Member Countries, where applicable, shall exempt citizens of any other Member Countries holding valid national passports from visa requirement for a period of stay of up to 14 (fourteen) days from the date of entry, provided that such stay shall not be used for purposes other than visit. Citizens of Member Countries who enter another Member Countries for other purposes or for a stay exceeding the days allowed under the laws and regulations of the host countries are required to apply for appropriate visas or passes.
- 2. Notwithstanding the above paragraph, Member Countries shall reserve the right to provide visa-free entry for citizens of other Member Countries for temporary visits for a period more than fourteen (14) days in accordance with their respective laws and regulations and/or bilateral protocols/arrangements.

ARTICLE 2

The duration of passport validity of citizens of Member Countries shall be at least six (6) months from the date of entry.

ARTICLE 3

1. The waiver of visa requirements under the foregoing articles shall not exempt citizens of Member Countries from the requirements of complying with the laws and regulations in force in the host country.

2. Each Member Country shall reserve the right to refuse admission or shorten the authorised duration of stay in its territory of citizens of other Member Countries who may be considered undesirable.

ARTICLE 4

Member Countries shall exchange, through diplomatic channels, specimen of their current passports, and specimen of any new passports not later than thirty (30) days before their introduction.

ARTICLE 5

- 1. Member Countries shall reserve the right to temporarily suspend the implementation of this Agreement for reasons of national security, public order, and public health by giving other Member Countries immediate notice, through diplomatic channels.
- 2. The suspension shall be lifted immediately after the situation which has given rise to the suspension has ceased to exist.
- 3. Member Countries shall reserve the right to terminate the implementation of the Agreement by means of written notification, through diplomatic channels. The termination of the implementation of the agreement shall take effect ninety (90) days after the date of receipt of the notification.
- 4. Unless otherwise provided, the termination of implementation of this Agreement shall have effect only as regards the Member Country that has notified it. The Agreement shall remain in force for other Member Countries.

ARTICLE 6

- 1. This Agreement shall not affect the implementation of existing agreements on visa exemption between Member Countries as well as the rights and obligations of Member Countries under any existing agreements or international conventions of which they are parties.
- 2. If the provisions of the agreements on visa exemption stated in paragraph 1 of this Article are less preferential to those of this Agreement, the Member Countries concerned shall negotiate for amendments in compliance with the provisions of this Agreement.

ARTICLE 7

Member Countries, where applicable, shall negotiate and conclude separate bilateral protocols to implement this Agreement as soon as possible. The implementation of such bilateral protocols shall come into force on the date as mutually agreed by the respective Member Countries.

ARTICLE 8

- 1. This Agreement is subject to ratification or approval by all Member Countries in accordance with their respective domestic laws and regulations
- 2. The instruments of ratification or approval shall be deposited with the Secretary-General of ASEAN who shall promptly inform other Member Countries of such deposit.

3. This Agreement shall enter into force when instruments of ratification or approval of all Member Countries have been deposited.

ARTICLE 9

Member Countries may request through a diplomatic channel to amend or modify all or any part of this Agreement. The amendment or modification shall become effective upon consent in writing by all Member Countries and shall form part of this Agreement.

ARTICLE 10

Any differences or disputes arising out of the interpretation and implementation of this Agreement shall be settled amicably by consultation or negotiation among Member Countries without reference to any third party or international tribunal.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the undersigned, being duly authorised to sign by their respective Governments, have signed the ASEAN Framework Agreement on Visa Exemption.

DONE at Kuala Lumpur, this Twenty-Fifth Day of July in the Year Two Thousand and Six, in a single copy in the English Language.

For Brunei Darussalam: LIM JOCK SENG, Second Minister of Foreign Affairs and Trade

For the Kingdom of Cambodia: **HOR NAMHONG**, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation

For the Republic of Indonesia: DR. N. HASSAN WIRAJUDA, Minister for Foreign Affairs

For the Lao People's Democratic Republic: **DR. THONGLOUN SISOULITH**, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs

For Malaysia: DATO' SERI SYED HAMID ALBAR, Minister of Foreign Affairs

For the Union of Myanmar: NYAN WIN, Minister for Foreign Affairs

For the Republic of the Philippines: ALBERTO G. ROMULO, Secretary of Foreign Affairs

For the Republic of Singapore: **GEORGE YONG-BOON YEO**, Minister for Foreign Affairs

For the Kingdom of Thailand: DR. KANTATHI SUPHAMONGKHON, Minister of Foreign Affairs

For the Socialist Republic of Viet Nam: **PHAM GIA KHIEM**, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Foreign Affairs