2015 KUALA LUMPUR DECLARATION ON ASEAN 2025: FORGING AHEAD TOGETHER

Adopted in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia on 22 November 2015

WE, the Heads of State/Government of the Member States of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations {hereinafter referred to as ASEAN), namely, Brunei Darussalam, the Kingdom of Cambodia, the Republic of Indonesia, the Lao People's Democratic Republic, Malaysia, the Republic of the Union of Myanmar, the Republic of the Philippines, the Republic of Singapore, the Kingdom ,at Thailand and the Socialist Republic of Viet Nam, on the occasion of the 27th ASEAN Summit in Kuala Lumpur;

RECALLING the spirit in which the ASEAN Founding Fathers gathered in Bangkok in 1967 to create an organisation that would help bring about a Southeast Asian region of peace, freedom and prosperity for our peoples;

REAFFIRMING our commitment to the purposes and principles enshrined in the ASEAN Declaration (Bangkok, 1967), the Zone of Peace, Freedom and Neutrality Declaration (Kuala Lumpur, 1971), the Treaty of Amity and Cooperation in Southeast Asia (Bali, 1976), the Declaration of ASEAN Concord (Bali, 1976), the Treaty on the Southeast Asia Nuclear Weapon-Free Zone (Bangkok, 1995), the ASEAN Vision 2020 (Kuala Lumpur, 1997), the Declaration of ASEAN Concord II (Bali, 2003) and the Bali Declaration on ASEAN Community in a Global Community of Nations (Bali, 2011);

REAFFIRMING FURTHER the purposes and principles enshrined in the ASEAN Charter that reflect our desire and collective will to live in a region of lasting peace, security and stability, sustained economic growth, shared prosperity and social progress, as well as promote ASEAN interests, ideals and aspirations;

RECOGNISING that the rapidly changing geostrategic landscape continues to present both opportunities and challenges which require ASEAN to respond proactively, in order to remain relevant as well as to maintain ASEAN centrality and role as the primary driving force in the evolving regional architecture;

COGNISANT of our commitment made under the Bandar Seri Begawan Declarat'1on on the ASEAN Community's Post-2015 Vision in 2013 and the Nay Pyi Taw Declaration on the ASEAN Community's Post-2015 Vision in 2014 that sets out the future direction for a politically cohesive, economically integrated, socially responsible and a truly rules-based, people-oriented, people-centred ASEAN;

EMPHASISING the importance of implementing the Report and Recommendations of the High Level Task Force on Strengthening the ASEAN Secretariat and Reviewing the ASEAN Organs that was endorsed at the 25th ASEAN Summit in Nay Pyi Taw;

RECOGNISING the benefits realised from the implementation of the Roadmap for an ASEAN Community (2009-2015) comprising the ASEAN Political-Security Community, the ASEAN Economic Community and the ASEAN Socio-Cultural Community Blueprints, as well as the Initiative for ASEAN Integration (IAI) Work Plan II and the Master Plan on ASEAN Connectivity;

WELCOMING the formal establishment of the ASEAN Community 2015 comprising the ASEAN Political-Security Community, the ASEAN Economic Community and the ASEAN Socio-Cultural Community; and

COMMENDING the work of the High Level Task Force on the ASEAN Community's Post-2015 Vision, as well as the work of the High Level Task Force on ASEAN Political-Security Community, the High

Level Task Force on ASEAN Economic Integration and the High Level Task Force on ASEAN Socio-Cultural Community, supported by the ASEAN Secretariat, on the three Community Blueprints;

DO HEREBY:

- 1. **ADOPT** the ASEAN Community Vision 2025, the ASEAN Political-Security Community Blueprint 2025, the ASEAN Economic Community Blueprint 2025 and the ASEAN Socio-Cultural Community Blueprint 2025;
- 2. **AGREE** that this Declaration as well as the ASEAN Community Vision 2025, the ASEAN Political-Security Community Blueprint 2025, the ASEAN Economic Community Blueprint 2025 and the ASEAN Socio-Cultural Community Blueprint 2025, as annexed, shall constitute the ASEAN 2025: Forging Ahead Together;
- 3. **DECIDE** that the ASEAN 2025: Forging Ahead Together succeeds the Roadmap for an ASEAN Community (2009-2015);
- 4. **FURTHER DECIDE** that the IAI Work Plan III and the ASEAN Connectivity 2025 to be adopted in 2016 shall be an integral part of the ASEAN 2025: Forging Ahead Together;
- 5. **RESOLVE** that ASEAN Member States as well as ASEAN Organs and Bodies shall implement the ASEAN 2025: Forging Ahead Together, in a timely and effective manner, in accordance with the purposes and principles of the ASEAN Charter;
- 6. **TASK** the ASEAN Ministers, the Secretary-General of ASEAN as well as other ASEAN Organs and Bodies to mobilise resources from ASEAN Member States and external sources to implement the ASEAN 2025: Forging Ahead Together; and
- 7. **DIRECT** the Secretary-General of ASEAN to monitor and report the progress of implementation of the ASEAN 2025: Forging Ahead Together to the ASEAN Summit annually, through the ASEAN Coordinating Council and respective ASEAN Community Councils.

DONE at Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia this Twenty Second Day of November in the Year Two Thousand and Fifteen, in a single original copy, in the English Language.

For Brunei Darussalam: HAJI HASSANAL BOLKIAH, Sultan of Brunei Darussalam

For the Kingdom of Cambodia: **SAMDECH AKKA MOHA SENA PADEI TECHO HUN SEN**, Prime Minister

For the Republic of Indonesia: JOKO WIDODO, President

For the Lao People's Democratic Republic: **THONGSING THAMMAVONG**, Prime Minister

For Malaysia: DATO' SRI MOHD NAJIB TUN ABDUL RAZAK, Prime Minister

For the Republic of the Union of Myanmar THEIN SEIN, President

For the Republic of the Philippines: BENIGNO S AQUINO III, President

For the Republic of Singapore: LEE HSIEN LOONG, Prime Minister

For the Kingdom of Thailand: ${f GENERAL\ PRAYUT\ CHAN-O-CHA\ (RET.)},\ {\sf Prime}$

Minister

For the Socialist Republic of Viet Nam: NGUYEN TAN DUNG, Prime Minister

For Brunei Darussalam:

HAJI HASSANAL BOLKIAH

Sultan of Brunei Darussalam

For the Kingdom of Cambodia:

SAMDECH AKKA MOHA SENA PADEI TECHO HUN SEN

Prime Minister

For the Republic of Indonesia:

President

For the Lao People's Democratic Republic:

THONGSING THAMMAVONG

Prime Minister

For Malaysia:

DATO' SRI MOHD NAJIB TUN ABDUL RAZAK

Prime Minister

For the Republic of the Union of Myanmar

THEIN SEIN

President

For the Republic of the Philippines

BENIGNO S. AQVINO I

President •

For Malaysia:

DATO' SRI MOHD NAJIB TUN ABDUL RAZAK

Prime Minister

For the Republic of the Union of Myanmar

£1: 34

THEIN SEIN
President

For the Republic of the Philippines

BENIGNO S. AQUINO II

President

For the Republic of Singapore

LEE HSIEN LOONG

Prime Minister

For the Kingdom of Thailand:

GENERAL PRAYUT CHAN-O-CHA (RET.)

Prime Minister

For the Socialist Republic of Viet Nam:

NGUYEN TAN DUNG

Prime Minister