2019 SECOND PROTOCOL AMENDING THE REVISED MEMORANDUM OF UNDERSTANDING ON THE ESTABLISHMENT OF THE ASEAN FOUNDATION

Signed in Jakarta, Indonesia on 17 June 2019

The Governments of Brunei Darussalam, the Kingdom of Cambodia, the Republic of Indonesia, the Lao People's Democratic Republic, Malaysia, the Republic of the Union of Myanmar, the Republic of the Philippines, the Republic of Singapore, the Kingdom of Thailand and the Socialist Republic of Viet Nam, Member States of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN), hereinafter collectively referred to as "ASEAN Member States" or individually as "ASEAN Member State";

REFERRING to Article XV of the Revised Memorandum of Understanding on the Establishment of the ASEAN Foundation (hereinafter referred to as "the Revised MOU") signed on 25 July 2000 in Bangkok, Kingdom of Thailand;

TAKING into account the Protocol Amending the Revised Memorandum of Understanding on the Establishment of the ASEAN Foundation signed on 2 October 2015; and

DESIRING to enhance the effectiveness and efficiency of the ASEAN Foundation in achieving its objectives in accordance with ASEAN's priorities,

HAVE AGREED AS FOLLOWS:

ARTICLE 1

Paragraph 1 of Article X of the Revised MOU shall be amended to read as follows:

"The Executive Director shall be a national of an ASEAN Member State and shall be appointed by the Board for a term of three years, which may be renewed for another three years based on the approval of the Board. The Executive Director shall be openly recruited based on merit."

ARTICLE 2

This Protocol shall enter into force upon signature by all ASEAN Member States.

IN WITNESS THEREOF, the undersigned, being duly authorised thereto by their respective Governments, have signed this Protocol.

DONE at Jakarta, Indonesia, this Seventeenth Day of June in the year Two Thousand and Nineteen in a single original in the English Language.