Category: Conferences

Sustainable Development, Investment Law and the European Union

Sustainable Development, Investment Law and the European Union

Joint Conference
National University of Singapore, Centre for International Law (CIL)
Queen Mary University London, School of Law (QMUL)

10th December 2021, Friday
5pm-7:45pm SGT / 9am-11:45am GMT / 10am-12:45pm CET

Panel 1 | 5pm-6:15pm SGT/ 9am-10:15am GMT / 10am-11:15am CET
The panel discusses the legal effects of sustainable development in international investment law, and comments on the specific contribution the EU has made to integrate sustainable development in international investment agreements. The starting point for the discussion is the recently published book Sustainable Development in EU Foreign Investment Law (Brill 2021) written by Stefanie Schacherer.

Moderator
N. Jansen Calamita, Head, Investment Law and Policy Research Associate Professor (CIL)

Introductory Remarks
August Reinisch, Professor of International and European Law, University of Vienna

Book Presentation
Stefanie Schacherer, Postdoctoral Fellow (CIL)

Discussant
Angelos Dimopoulos, Senior Lecturer in Law and LLM Director (QMUL)

15 min break

Panel 2 | 6:30pm-7:45pm SGT / 10:30am-11:45am GMT / 11:30am-12:45pm CET
This panel takes a closer look at the Trade and Sustainable Development (TSD) Chapters of EU International Investment Agreements. These chapters have been praised for creating a distinct promotional model for regulating the linkage between investment/trade and sustainable development. Yet, the implementation and enforcement of TSD provisions remain subject to debate. Are consultation and experts’ recommendation enough? Or should TSD provisions be enforceable through a sanction-based mechanism? Against this background, the second panel critically assesses the effectiveness of the current institutional framework and enforcement mechanism of TSD chapters.

Moderator
Stefanie Schacherer, Postdoctoral Fellow (CIL)

Panelists
Laurence Boisson de Chazournes, Professor of International Law, University of Geneva
Gracia Marín Durán, Associate Professor in International Economic Law, University College London
James Harrison, Professor of Law, University of Warwick

Closing Remarks/Way Forward
Angelos Dimopoulos, Senior Lecturer in Law and LLM Director (QMUL)


Media Partner

Transnational Dispute Management (TDM, ISSN 1875-4120) is a comprehensive and innovative information service on the management of international disputes, with a focus on the rapidly evolving area of investment arbitration, but also in other significant areas of international investment (such as oil, gas, energy, infrastructure, mining, utilities etc).

It deals both with formal adjudicatory procedures (mainly investment and commercial arbitration), but also mediation/ADR methods, negotiation and managerial ways to manage transnational disputes efficiently. See this link for more information. You can apply for a free OGEMID trial membership and students can sign up for Young-OGEMID (which is free).


Supporting Organisation